
STATE OF MINNESOTA 

IN SUPREME COURT 

CO-85-2205 
C5-84-2139 
C2-84-2163 
C9-81-1206 

Order Prescribing and Promulgating 
Rules of the Minnesota Client Security , 
Board, Imposing A Special Assessment, 
And Amending the Rules of the Supreme 
Court for Registration of Attorneys 

WHEREAS, the regulation of the practice of law lies within the 

exclusive jurisdiction of this Court; and 

WHEREAS, this Court entered an order dated April 7, 1987 providing for 

an assessment of licensed lawyers pursuant to Rule 2.02(C) of the Rules of 

the Minnesota Client Security Board; and 

WHEREAS, this Court intends that each lawyer who is registered to 

practice law and is subject to a fee shall pay the assessment; 

NOW, THEREFORE, the order of this Court dated April 7, 1987 is hereby 

amended nunc pro tune in part as follows: 

a. A lawyer admitted to practice law in this state for more 
than three years and a member of the judiciary who is 
required to be admitted to practice as a prerequisite to 
holding office shall pay $100 4-n for the fiscal year of 
July 1, 1987 - June 30, 1988; - 

b. A lawyer or judge whose permanent residence is outside the 
State of Minnesota and who does not practice law within this 
state, a lawyer who has been admitted to practice for three 
years or less and a lawyer on duty in the armed forces of 
the United States shall pay $50 4-n for the fiscal year of 
July 1, 1987 - June 30, 1988, and $504-n for the fiscal year 
the lawyer becomes subject to the first paragraph of Rule 2, 
Rules of the Supreme Court for Registration of Attorneys; 



C. A lawyer or judge who is retired from any gainful employment 
or permanently disabled, and who files annually with the 
clerk of the appellate courts an affidavit that he or she is 
so retired or disabled and not engaged in the practice of 
law shall be exempt from the assessment. 

d. A lawyer or judge who is currently retired or disabled 8)= 
and who is not otherwise engaged in the active practice of 
% or who is currently suspended from the practice of law 
shall pay $100 in the fiscal year in which he or she resumes 
active status. 

Dated June Zy , 1987 

BY THE COURT 

Chief Justice 
OFFiCE OF 

APPELLf;EX$JRTS 

JUN 20337 

WAYNE TXHIMPEREE 
CLERK 


